1. Home
  2. >
  3. The Court System
  4. >
  5. Structure of the Fourth Circuit

The Fourth Judicial Circuit is composed of the following nine counties: CHRISTIAN, CLAY, CLINTON, EFFINGHAM, FAYETTE, JASPER, MARION, MONTGOMERY and SHELBY. Although the Fourth Judicial Circuit is a unified circuit, all nine counties of the circuit have separate courthouses and court is held in each county.

There are nineteen judges that serve the Fourth Judicial Circuit – twelve circuit judges and seven associate judges. Each of the judges of the Fourth Circuit may hear cases in each of the counties and are assigned by assignment order made by the Chief Judge.

The Chief Judge of the Fourth Judicial Circuit is elected by the circuit judges. The Chief Judge has general administrative authority over the courts in the Fourth Circuit and assigns judges within the circuit. The administrative staff of the Chief Judge is made up of a trial court administrator and court reporter supervisor.

Home Icon

DISCLAIMER: The Fourth Judicial Circuit, Office of the Chief Judge provides this web site only as a source of public information on the Fourth Judicial Circuit. All efforts are made to ensure that information and links are accurate and current. However, users should not cite this information as an official or authoritative source and are advised to independently verify all information. Information contained on this web site should in no way be construed as legal advice. Users should contact an attorney if they require legal assistance or advice .